Home > predictions > New Titan weapon prediction

New Titan weapon prediction

just a quick one:

I’ve been thinking about the new titan change that’s comming up. apparently it will be changed from being an Area of Effect weapon to a single target weapon. A lot of people are complaining that this is an extreme titan nerf, and I’ve been thinking that all those people are stupid. CCP wouldn’t make the biggest, most expensive, alliance e-peen ship in the entire game useless. if they change it, it will be to still have a use, but I didn’t say anything because I couldn’t think of any alternative.

but just today I had a brainwave. See the empyrean age trailer here:
http://ccp.vo.llnwd.net/o2/video/2/empyrean_age_1280x720.wmv

( or download it from their download site here, if that link scares you: http://www.eveonline.com/download/videos/?type=2

At 1:30 in the video you see a team of minmatar warp in with their titan and a team of amarr warp in. I remember when the video came out, someone in CCP said that it was a graphical mistake, the central amarr ship should have actually been the Avatar titan, but they put a battleship in there instead.

take note of the weapon that it shoots – it hits a single target, but that it spreads out to all nearby shipps, doing damage to all of them.

my prediction: the new weapon will be like this, the titan(s) have to target a single ship and the damage will “jump” from ship to ship, presuming they are within a certain distance of eachother. the titan will still be an anti-blob weapon, but it will require using more brain power than it takes to warp-in, hit the DD button, warp out currently. imagine one of those hitting a remote repping battleship fleet. imagine if the damage changed (increased or decreased) after each jump to the next ship.

Thoughts anyone?

——-
Morning-after Edit: oh my goodness, I do apologise for the extremely bad spelling and craptastic composition in some places, but I had my “brainwave” while I was out at dinner, and although one cocktail and two large glasses of wine is not nearly enough to get me completely smashed, it was enough to give me the impulse to write, but not the presence of mind to write well 🙂

On another note – if you’re ever in London and need a very good restaurant/eating experience, I very highly recommend dans le noir http://www.danslenoir.com/london/ they also have a Paris branch. The idea is that you eat in pitch black and have blind waiters serve you. Very very cool experience, and excellent (exotic: I got crocodile!) food (they don’t let you see the menu beforehand, you just choose meat, fish, vegetarian or “supprise”.

Anyway – back to eve: on Monday night the Northern coalition got together 133 pilots, piled us all into tech 1 frigates and went on a massive suicidal roam at the end of which we ended up destroying 1.945billion isk worth of bad guys (including a tengu and about 5-6 battleships!) and lost 59 allied t1 frigs for a total of 300 mil lost. It is seriously the most fun I’ve had in EvE ever, so I’ll definitely be writing about this in the coming days. The next post however will be about the battle for 9-4 against evoke, which is ready to go, I’m just waiting so I don’t get into a habit of posting every day 🙂

  1. belamar
    September 9, 2009 at 10:09

    I don’t know how it’s going to work, so I’m not addressing that element of your post. About the trailer, and the “mistake”, if you read the Empyrean Age novel, the explanation for the Battleship and its weapon is explained (well, somewhat explained).

    • evemonkey
      September 9, 2009 at 10:49

      ahh – care to summarize? I’ve not read the novel myself, although I’ve picked it up a couple of times….

      • belamar
        September 9, 2009 at 11:17

        The short version is that Jamyl Sarum had people scavenging for old earth tech around the eve gate, and the mega weapon in the video was the result of something they found

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

