Home > non-eve > Non-Eve chillout

Non-Eve chillout

I love eve, I really do – it’s got everything you could want in a game: immersive gameplay, a sandbox style world where you can do whatever you want.

I think mostly because of my personality I’ve chosen to be a part of a large 0.0 holding alliance, which in turn is part of the largest power block in the game. This is what I love doing – conquering – seeing everything there is to see in a particular game.

When Playing WoW, it was the same – staying up late and getting up early, joining a “hardcore” raiding guild, getting the best stuff etc. When playing guild wars I was also part of a guild that raided FOW on a regular basis. All this takes a lot of effort and sometimes, when my wife asks me “did you have fun” I can’t answer yes….. having fun is not what games are for for me…. it’s like when someone asks you “did you have fun rock climbing” (another of my hobbies btw) “did you have fun running that marathon?” These things are not fun…. they are fulfilling, challenging, exciting, but not fun. fun is what I do with friends on the weekend playing a stupid chance-based board game. not caring about whether I win or loose.

however, despite the fact that I love putting in the effort to contribute to something that can only be achieved by hundreds of people working together, sometimes I really don’t want to log on and hear the FC (not all of them mind you) swear at the fleet for not being perfect… sometimes after having a tough week at work, with problems piling up and solutions few and far between and only 30 mins or so before I have to go to bed at night…. somtimes I just want to shoot monsters in the face….

or, as it so happened this week – bash them in the face with a severed arm… whatever, I’m not picky really.

Photobucket

Now that’s fun 🙂

I also sometimes pop on over to Guild wars again and run lowbie missions. sometimes I play half life2, sometimes Unreal tournament 3. it’s refreshing, it works out the aggression.

  1. StrangeApe
    October 15, 2009 at 21:44

    That second paragraph there, about fun, is worth gold imo. I think i’ve been trying to put that into words for years now, and i can finally relay what it is to me to people who don’t understand. Awesome post. Thx for that.

  2. StrangeApe
    October 15, 2009 at 21:45

    Btw, i just joined TCF in ELYR, hopefully, i’ll see you in fleet sometimes.

    • evemonkey
      October 18, 2009 at 22:00

      hehe – I looked for you in 9-4 local on sunday night but didn’t see you there 🙂 next time then o/

  3. October 15, 2009 at 22:17

    I do the same thing. Left 4 Dead has been filling the need for me quite well recently. It’s better than getting burned out on EvE for sure.

  4. J.
    October 19, 2009 at 21:08

    I’ve been watching the news about GuildWars 2 and wondering if that’s a possible fresh approach to MMORPGs. Currently playing Warhammer, and it’s okay, not a thrill a minute, but has some highlights. Would you recommend Guild Wars to someone who’s burning out in Warhammer?

    Or should I just renew my lapsed EvE membership?

    (signed – a former Calderi battleship driver)

  5. evemonkey
    October 19, 2009 at 23:15

    hmmm – never played warhammer, but I have played WoW. Guild wars was absolutely great for an ex-wow addict – the low level cap and focus on human skills rather than the gear you wear means that everyone can have fun very quickly. essentially everyone has the same gear once you get to the level cap the only difference is what it looks like, the more expensive stuff just looks awesome.

    if you choose to go guild wars, I’d recommend the factions or prophecies campaigns rather than the original one.

    • Drez
      July 2, 2012 at 08:54

      I would like to point out here that Prophecies IS the original campaign. Perhaps you meant Nightfall?

      Great post that reflects my thoughts on current WoW raiding, I get the sense of accomplishment when there is a heroic bosskill, but it is taxing to the point that some of the fun is inevitably lost.

      • July 2, 2012 at 09:16

        wow – 3 years later and I never picked that one up – yes I meant nightfall!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

