Home > Uncategorized > Afraid

Afraid

Two days off sick (honestly sick, not “I want to play internet spaceships” sick) allowed me to start a trial account in EVE to decide if I wanted to get back into it.

After an hour or two of a steep re-learning curve, I finally got the hang of shooting things. I remembered all the problems I initially had about not being able to shoot missiles without having to buy the skill, and made a couple of dumb mistakes like buying a new frigate one mission before getting one free from the agent. Still haven’t got the overview working the way I want it.

Anyway, long story short. I reactivated my account. I am still flying as Akura Kawanaka and I logged into the game where I had left off – in high sec in my Occator, after having moved all my stuff out of the space owned by my previous alliance AAA.

Now, the problem I have here is, I put myself into a corporation that I owned “0.0 veterans rest and relaxation corp”, but to prevent impulse spending I had moved all my cash to the corp wallet and made my alt (on another account) the sole accountant for the corporation. the corporation tax rate is also 100%, so I am now relatively pennyless (200million isk) with the remainder sitting in a corporate account that I can’t access unless I reactivate my other account……which I really don’t want to use this time around.)

so while I mulled this over, I moved myself and my stuff back to the mission hub of Amo/Lustrevik that I used to frequent prior to moving to 0.0 space.

Occator in flight by Starlight with a beautiful Nebula in the background
Photobucket

so… now what to do? I don’t really have time for 0.0 (at the moment), I think I’d like to try trading/industrial for a living, but they tend to take a long time to get into and all my skills are pvp related except for hauling…..

Missions then? they bring a good amount of isk in. I do get bored doing them after a while but my RL friend will be doing them for a while when he joins up so I figured that would be a good option.

Turns out I had a very good PVE fit Hyperion sitting there waiting for me.

Hyperion in station
Photobucket

anyone know how to make your character smile for screenshots?

anyway, also in anticipation of missioning, I bought a Noctis, one of the new dedicated salvage ships (battlecruiser size?).

Noctis by starlight
Photobucket

problem is though. I’ve lost my confidence…. I’m still hesitant with the overview and still not sure of myself with missions. last time I missioned was over 3 years ago! I don’t have the money to replace my current ship…. what if I get killed in my first lvl 4 mission I do? what if I find that missioning is so dull that I want to get into pvp but can’t because of RL commitments?

for the first time as a pod pilot, I am afraid…..

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. May 4, 2012 at 12:07

    Welcome back! I suggest taking that big ole Hyperion and run some level 3 missions to get your feet back under you, or use the directional scanner to find some high sec anaomalies.

  2. May 4, 2012 at 12:08

    Also, if you want to ask questions, get in some public channel like “Ninveah” and people are always glad to help out. (shameless plug)

  3. May 4, 2012 at 19:07

    Tickle him.

    Welcome back, Monkey!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

