Home > Battle Report > First Fleet Op with ANZAC Alliance

First Fleet Op with ANZAC Alliance

So as I mentioned previously I joined up with ANZAC Alliance corporation who are part of Executive Outcomes. We currently control Cloud Ring and are unfortunately allied with Goonswarm.

So I rounded up all my PVP gear and took it to the designated system where the corp jump freighter pilots move things back and forth between highsec and nullsec.

Occator Deep Space Transport
Photobucket

Then I moved my medical clone out to our home system and podded myself to get out there. The first thing that you should do when moving to any new space is make bookmarks 150+ away from the gates. This is so you can be assured you are clear of any bubbles that may be on the gates. So I bought the cheapest frigate I could find and a ridiculously overpriced mwd and spent an hour or so making bookmarks around the area.

cheap vigil frigate
Photobucket

It was about a week before my stuff arrived via jump freighter and since then I spent about another week waiting for a scheduled fleet op to happen during the time I usually play.

Turned out that Today was the day! A fleet operation notification was placed in our “Ship Violencing” forums, we were told to bring “battle cruisers T2 and 3, rapiers, coverts, tackle, and MOAR dps ships that go pew pew and logistics (scimi).” I didn’t have a drake ready so I jumped in my trusty Gothic Robochicken Onyx and headed out.

Onyx Heavy Interdictor dwarfed by an Avatar Titan
Photobucket

One thing I was blown away with was the new animations for jump bridges…. instead of the gate “bloop” there’s this massive space/time tearing sound that is absolutely epic! and animation that looks like this: I was having such a nerdgasm taking screenshots that I nearly missed the second bridge…

Photobucket
Photobucket

Turns out the fleet was a major logistics operation to transport the massive amounts of modules and minerals required to deploy our own station! Some of the modules were being built in Lowsec and some in high sec, so the support fleet’s job was to protect the freighters….. I have never seen so many freighters in one spot before.

Freighter Fleet
Photobucket

On the whole, it was a fairly dull evening, however sometimes these evenings are required. If we’re going to make our space better then sometimes the boring things need to be done. The FC and the other corp/alliance directors were busy the whole time though. We were occasionally told to shut up on Teamspeak just so they could think, although mostly it was friendly banter :-).

So for us, there wasn’t any pew pew. We did sit on a lowsec gate to highsec to ensure the freighters didn’t get bothered as they moved in and out. but as none of us thought we were going to be doing a lowsec op, we couldn’t hit anything….. The frigates we had couldn’t tank the gate guns and the cruisers/battlecruisers didn’t have the scan resolution to target fast enough. and when we did get something slow enough (a bestower hauler) those of us that could lock ended up being stopped by the “do you really want to do this” dialogue box….. So I will add to my list of “things to take in your HIC Cargohold” a sensor booster with a scan resolution script so you can swap it out with an active hardener if you get the chance to dock and you know you won’t be able to bubble.

Nevermind – objective achieved: Station Egg (see this guide on outposts: linky) will be placed tomorrow night just before downtime and it will grow into a station by tomorrow evening.

One thing I did discover, and I’m glad it was during a non-combat operation. Missile explosion effects in fleet for some reason cause a graphical glitch on my client and cause the client to pause for a good 10 seconds:

Photobucket

After turning off explosion effects it is fine.

Well, hopefully I’ll have some actual battle reports soon. Things seem to have died down in the north recently. I can only hope that someone tries to take it from us. My experience of Cloud Ring in the past has been quite violent (linky linky linky.)

On another note: to settle a dispute that some corp members were having my HIC guide got linked in corp chat and on jabber and it wasn’t by me. Turns out googling for “EVE online HIC guide” brings my blog up as the top result. Great success!

My HIC Guide being linked in corp chat
Photobucket

  1. June 10, 2012 at 10:24

    NO peew peew that time, but I imagine your heart must had been beating hard, when you where there waiting for something to happen, all the anticipation for something unexpected to happen, makes the blood run faster, maybe next time something might happen.

  2. June 10, 2012 at 10:39

    heh – it was a good exercise to get back into it, but it’s going to take a lot more to get my blood pumping 🙂 have a look at some of the posts that I linked. That will do it.

    • June 10, 2012 at 11:43

      I will .

      • June 11, 2012 at 23:47

        I did read all your posts and like it, it seams epic, fun, but also requires lots of investment of time and ISK , but I could see myself doing it.

  3. June 12, 2012 at 01:27

    A lot depends on the alliance you join to be honest, if you can find one that has a solid ship replacement program then you often only need to outlay the cost of 4 or 5 ships and the alliance will replace them or at least contribute significantly to the cost of replacing them. At the moment in nullsec it seems you can’t go wrong with a drake (50-70mil), a stealth bomber (50 mil) and perhaps a cruiser or two for small gang runs. That won’t take you long to accumulate.

    I’m in the process of writing a “newbies guide to moving into nullsec” focusing on the process of joining a nullsec corp rather than the mechanics of nullsec itself. hope it will be useful for you.

    • June 12, 2012 at 09:27

      Looking forward to read it, so I better understand some of the nuances of trying to join a 0.0 Coorp.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

